CPT 93653 covers a comprehensive electrophysiology study performed with ablation of supraventricular tachycardia. The word doing the work is comprehensive: the diagnostic study and the 3D mapping are inside the code, and billing either separately is the most reliable denial on an EP claim.
What CPT 93653 covers
93653 is a comprehensive electrophysiologic evaluation with insertion and repositioning of multiple electrode catheters, induction or attempted induction of an arrhythmia with right atrial pacing and recording, and catheter ablation of an arrhythmogenic focus, including intracardiac electrophysiologic 3-dimensional mapping, right ventricular pacing and recording, left atrial pacing and recording from the coronary sinus or left atrium, and His bundle recording, when performed, with treatment of supraventricular tachycardia.
It is the SVT code: ablation of a fast or slow atrioventricular pathway, an accessory atrioventricular connection, the cavo-tricuspid isthmus, or another single atrial focus or source of atrial re-entry.
What the comprehensive ablation codes already include
93653, 93654 and 93656 are comprehensive codes: each wraps the diagnostic electrophysiology study and the ablation into one report. Since the CPT 2022 revision, their descriptors also absorb several services that used to be billed alongside them.
- All three include insertion and repositioning of multiple electrode catheters, induction or attempted induction of the arrhythmia, intracardiac electrophysiologic 3-dimensional mapping, right ventricular pacing and recording, and His bundle recording, when performed.
- 93653 and 93654 also include left atrial pacing and recording from the coronary sinus or left atrium. 93654 also includes left ventricular pacing and recording.
- 93656 also includes transseptal catheterizations and intracardiac echocardiography with imaging supervision and interpretation.
The separate codes for those services are therefore not reported with these three: 93613 (3D mapping), 93621 (left atrial pacing), 93622 (left ventricular pacing, with 93654) and, with 93656, 93662 (ICE) and 93462 (transseptal puncture). The single-site EP studies (93600 to 93603, 93610, 93612, 93618) and the comprehensive studies 93619 and 93620 are included as well. Only one primary ablation code is reported per session.
Add-on codes that may accompany an ablation
- 93655: ablation of a discrete arrhythmia mechanism distinct from the primary mechanism, including repeat diagnostic maneuvers, in the same session.
- 93657: additional linear or focal ablation of the left or right atrium for atrial fibrillation remaining after pulmonary vein isolation is complete. It belongs with 93656.
- 93662: intracardiac echocardiography, with 93653 and 93654 when performed and documented. Not with 93656, which includes it.
- 93462: transseptal puncture, where performed with 93653 or 93654. Not with 93656, which includes it. Hospital outpatient payment for it is packaged, so check how your setting reports it.
Add-on codes never carry modifier 51 and never stand alone without their primary code on the claim.
Reimbursement context
Electrophysiology procedures are high-value and heavily documented, and the difference between a correctly and incorrectly coded ablation session is large enough to matter on a single case.
Medicare pays for this code under the Physician Fee Schedule, and the amount depends on where you practise. Each code carries relative value units for physician work, practice expense and malpractice, each adjusted by a geographic practice cost index (GPCI) for the locality, and the total is multiplied by the conversion factor:
(work RVU × work GPCI + practice expense RVU × PE GPCI + malpractice RVU × MP GPCI) × conversion factor
For 2026 the conversion factor is $33.4009 for practitioners who are not qualifying APM participants and $33.5675 for qualifying APM participants, as set in the CY 2026 Physician Fee Schedule final rule (CMS-1832-F; see the CMS fact sheet). Because the RVUs differ by code and the GPCIs differ by locality, what your practice is paid will differ from any national average. Pull the RVUs and the payment for your own locality from the CMS Physician Fee Schedule Look-Up Tool.
Documentation requirements
- The arrhythmia being treated, named specifically, with its mechanism.
- Catheters inserted and their positions.
- Induction or attempted induction, and the response.
- Pacing and recording performed at each site, noted even where the code includes it.
- The ablation target, energy delivered and endpoint achieved.
- Where a second distinct mechanism was treated, its identification as distinct from the primary.
- Mapping and imaging performed, named specifically so the record shows what the comprehensive code covered.
- A signed procedure note naming the study and ablation performed.
Common denials and the exact fix
CO-97: 3D mapping billed with 93613
The most common 93653 add-on error. Intracardiac electrophysiologic 3-dimensional mapping is named in the descriptor, so 93613 duplicates work already inside the code.
Fix: remove the 93613 line, and remove any scrub rule that adds it automatically to ablation claims.
Separate diagnostic EP study billed alongside 93653
The comprehensive code already contains the catheter insertion, induction and pacing and recording. The single-site studies (93600 to 93603, 93610, 93612, 93618) and the comprehensive studies 93619 and 93620 are included too.
Fix: remove the diagnostic study line. No modifier makes it payable, because it is not a distinct service.
Left atrial pacing billed with 93621
Left atrial pacing and recording from the coronary sinus or left atrium is named in the descriptor.
Fix: remove the 93621 line.
Second primary ablation code reported for another mechanism
Only one primary ablation code is reported per session.
Fix: report the additional distinct mechanism with the add-on 93655, and document why the second mechanism was distinct from the primary.
Intracardiac echo performed but not reported
Unlike 93656, this code does not include ICE, so a genuine capture is frequently left unbilled.
Fix: where ICE was performed and documented with imaging supervision and interpretation, report 93662 alongside 93653.
Arrhythmia mechanism not documented
The code turns on the mechanism treated. A note that records an ablation without naming the pathway or focus will not support it.
Fix: name the mechanism, the target and the endpoint achieved.
Modifier rules
- 51: never appended to the ablation add-on codes, which are exempt from multiple-procedure reduction.
- 59 / XE / XP / XS / XU: reserved for genuinely distinct services. Not a route to reporting mapping, pacing or a diagnostic EP study that the comprehensive code already includes.
- 26 / TC: applies in facility settings where professional and technical components are billed separately.
- 22: increased procedural services, requiring a narrative and manual review.
- 53: discontinued procedure, where an ablation was aborted after the patient was prepared.
- 78 / 79: return to the procedure room during a global period, related or unrelated.
NCCI bundling edits
- 93653 with 93613: 3D mapping is included. This pairing denies.
- 93653 with 93621: left atrial pacing and recording is included.
- 93653 with a separate diagnostic EP study (93600 to 93603, 93610, 93612, 93618, 93619, 93620): included in the comprehensive code.
- 93653 with 93654 or 93656: mutually exclusive. One primary ablation code per session.
- 93653 with 93655, 93662: separately reportable where documented.
- Vascular access, guidance and closure are included.
Frequently asked questions
Is 3D mapping (93613) separately billable with CPT 93653?
Can I bill a diagnostic EP study with CPT 93653?
How do I report a second arrhythmia treated in the same session?
Is intracardiac echocardiography separately reportable with 93653?
Sources
American Medical Association, CPT 2026 Professional Edition.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, National Correct Coding Initiative Policy Manual and quarterly edit tables, cms.gov.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Physician Fee Schedule Look-Up Tool, cms.gov.
American College of Cardiology, acc.org. AAPC coding resources, aapc.com.
CPT® is a registered trademark of the American Medical Association. Code descriptors are summarised here for billing guidance and are not a substitute for the current CPT codebook. Payer rules and NCCI edits change quarterly; verify against your own payer policy before submission.
Related reading
- Cardiology billing & RCM. How we scrub cardiology claims across diagnostics, cath lab, EP and remote monitoring.
- Cardiac cath billing: NCCI bundling and modifier 59. Where cath lab bundling edits bite, and when a distinct-service modifier is genuinely earned.
- TC/26 modifier errors in cardiology. The split-billing mistakes that cost diagnostic practices the most.
Check your EP claims for the mapping denial
A free Billing X-Ray finds ablation claims still carrying 93613 and other services the code already includes.
Book my Billing X-Ray →